Bad….Bad Friday

Posted: March 29, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Three%20Crosses-448847

Traditionally, today is called “Good Friday.”  It is when the death of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ occurred.   Many Christians around the world are thinking of His death on this day.  Tonight, I will attend the Lord’s Supper at my church specifically put in place due to the “holiday” of Good Friday which precedes the biggest church attendance in history (along with Christmas).  Shoppers have depleted the department stores of their overstocked Easter attire in anticipation for the biggest social event of the year.

Why do we acknowledge Him in His death but forget about Him in our life?  Did He not die so we could live?

In staying with tradition, I have been more Jesus-minded this week than usual.  I began to think of all the people He touched this week, the week of His death.   Today, I thought of how Jesus was in the garden praying…pleading…”God pass this cup!”   You know, we have always said that the victory of sin was won on the cross and yes, that is true BUT I believe it was really won in the garden.  Jesus was wrestling with God’s will and our sin.  To put it in perspective, has God told you to do something you don’t want to do?  And you wrestle with Him about it but eventually give in?  Multiply that times a million and you know how Jesus was feeling.

One of my favorite verses in the Bible is Romans 5:8:

But God shows and clearly proves His [own] love for us by the fact that while we were still sinners, Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One) died for us.

To think that while Jesus was pleading in the garden over this monumental task, I was selfishly sinning, not caring about the blood that would be drained from His body for MY sin.   Today I ponder on His act that saved the world from our sins, even before we acknowledged Him.   We call it Good Friday but the disciples didn’t think it was so good… Mary didn’t think today was good… In fact, they thought the end of the world was on their doorstep.  Their hope was gone.  It was indeed a BAD, BAD Friday.

It’s hard to put your faith in someone or something and it be shattered in an instant.  In one split second, life is now “over” and you are left picking up the pieces.   Being in a hopeless state is horrible.  I can only imagine what Mary felt as she saw her Son, the Messiah, die a horrible death in front of her.   What hope did the disciples have when He breathed His last breath and said, “it is finished.”

When my dad passed away, the hardest day to deal with it was not the day of his death nor even the day of the funeral.  It was the day after his death.  I laid in his bed, mad.  Mad because the world should have stopped.  I went to the grocery store and saw people laughing and smiling and thought, “WHY?”… Why didn’t the world stop?  My world had stopped so theirs should have as well.  I couldn’t feel their joy because my hope was shattered.  I couldn’t laugh with them because there was nothing to laugh about.

I imagine that the disciples got up the next morning and felt the same way.  Maybe they passed a few kids playing on the street corner and was disgusted at how they could be so nonchalant at a time like this.  Maybe Mary saw a mother kiss her son on the forehead in the market the next day and was immediately overcome with deep sorrow and regret.  The day before was definitely not a Good Friday but a BAD, BAD Friday.

If I could only whisper to John or Mary or Thomas, or Peter… “hold on…Sunday is coming!”  Their sorrow would be short-lived as in three days, Jesus would most definitely turn a BAD, BAD event into the single greatest act in the history of the world.

I’m here to tell you, “Hold on… Sunday is coming!”

Those things that have been laid to rest in your life, the things you thought would never breathe again, will be resurrected.  Life will begin again.  Joy will come.  Hope is on the eve of breakthrough.   Just hold on…  Jesus came to turn your BAD, BAD situation into not only a Good one but a GREAT one!  If you feel all hope is lost, I’m here to tell you, “hold on…Sunday is coming.”   If you feel like you are in the ditches and cannot get out, “hold on… Sunday is coming.”   Feeling unloved and unappreciated?  “Hold on… Sunday is coming.”   Feeling lost?  “Hold on…Jesus is coming!”

Hold on…. He is coming!

Comments
  1. Lori says:

    It’s crazy cause I think about all these things too. I think about Mary and the rest of his family and friends and followers. I remember watching my brother being persecuted for being mentally disabled and watching him get pushed around and mocked would kill me. Being a mom makes me think of Mary. Her faith had to be so strong to endure all of this but I also think of what it must have been like to be the mom of Jesus.

    I too have thought about his praying in the garden and talking with his Father about what was being asked of him and how the battle was won that night. He chose to say yes. He was Jesus and he could have chosen differently but he didn’t. I think about him washing the disciples feet and the humbleness of it all. I think about them breaking bread and drinking wine and the last minute lessons he gave them on living and loving. Which makes me think that it must have been important to Jesus if this is what he chose to talk about as his time was running out. He didn’t talk about church rules or what they should wear or going to church or a whole lot of other things that us Christians can surely get worked up over. Instead he talked about the loving the least of these and loving people and that by doing so we are loving him.

    I feel the same way about the day after a death. Being alone because everyone has gone home and the world has gone on. Yes there is a funeral to plan but still the reality of this loved one being gone from us hits us between the eye’s and yes it feels like the world should stop.

    If you’ve read any of my posts on facebook then you know this season of remembering and celebrating Jesus is near and dear to my heart because of greatly in part to how I once lived and the road I was headed down but also because I depend so greatly on his grace daily. I am astounded by the life Jesus lived here on earth and the example he left us with. It is how I want to live my life.

    Happy Easter to you and yours. I’ve been thinking of you and the tough things you are facing. I also know that you have Jesus so I know you will do just fine regardless of the way things go. We have a had another very tough week at our house and now some little’s getting colds and ear infections but we are remembering and rejoicing greatly over Jesus. Because of Him we CAN do this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

