A Limp & A Blessing

Posted: March 11, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

wrestlers

But during the night he got up and took his two wives, his two maidservants,
and his eleven children and crossed the ford of the Jabbok. He got them safely
across the brook along with all his possessions.But Jacob stayed behind
by himself, and a man wrestled with him until daybreak.
When the man saw that he couldn’t get the best of Jacob as they wrestled,
he deliberately threw Jacob’s hip out of joint.The man said, “Let me go; it’s daybreak.”
Jacob said, “I’m not letting you go ’til you bless me.” The man said, “What’s your name?”
He answered, “Jacob.”  The man said, “But no longer. Your name is no longer Jacob.
From now on it’s Israel (God-Wrestler); you’ve wrestled with God and you’ve come through.”
Gen 32:22-28 (AMP)

Wrestling with God seems nearly impossible but if you think about it, we do it every day… Or at least I do.  I wrestle with God over things that shouldn’t really matter.  I call God “unfair” and throw a tantrum trying to get my own way.  A situation happened the other day where I had to tell someone something that wasn’t pleasant.  In the end, she became mad at me but  I had to tell her the truth and risk our friendship.  Up until the moment I had to tell her, I wrestled with God… “Why me God?  Send someone else!  I don’t want to say that… It’ll offend her…”  But God just said, “DO IT… Why not you…”  What have you been wrestling God about?  Submit to His will and just go ahead and do it.  Eventually He will win out every time..

But what about Jacob…. He wrestled God and WON!  Was it his strength that took God off His game?  Maybe he was more determined than God was?  Or Jacob’s moves were to advanced for God to see coming?  No, none of these are correct but maybe, just maybe, God saw Jacob’s heart.   I believe Jacob had planned this wrestling match of the century.  Why?  Because he sent everyone on ahead of him.  He made sure everyone was safe and accounted for and then went back by himself.  He knew that in order for him to receive the blessing he was promised, he had to wrestle with the Big Guy. 

All night, they wrestled back and forth.  Jacob was not giving up and neither was God.  Now at this juncture, God could have called the match by killing Jacob with the blink of His eye but instead, He touched Jacob’s hip bone and caused it to come out of socket.  Jacob still endured even with a limp.  I often wondered why God did this.  Was He not big enough to take on little Jacob?  But God told me that Jacob couldn’t receive his blessing until a change took place.  You see, his limp resulted from an encounter with the glory of God.  When we stand in His presence, flesh cannot live – something must die.  God sometimes puts a spot of “death” in our bodies to rid us of our humanness and we will not come out of the encounter unscathed.  

This hits home to me so much because I’m currently in a wrestling match with God.  I need God to fulfill the promises He made to me, promises of freedom.  I know I’m not coming out of this unharmed.  I need Him to put a spot of death over the area of my life in which I am bound so that it can eat away at the chains that surround me.  I know that I, too, will have a limp but that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  Could my limp be the blessing God intended for me? 

At daybreak, God finally said, “What’s your name?”  Now, we know that God already knew exactly who Jacob was.  The question was not for God but Jacob had to speak out who he was…  When he answered God, he was really saying, “My name is Jacob… I’m a supplanter… I scheme my way into getting what I want and I swindle people….”  Have you ever called out your name to God?   Have you told God who you really are?  There’s something about confession, it truly does the soul good.  Jacob had to take an account for his life, his actions… In an encounter with God, you will ALWAYS have to set your sin before Him.  You cannot hide in His holiness.  After the limp comes, confession should follow. 

God told Jacob, “No, your name isn’t Jacob…”  Yes, I know what you said you did… but that’s not who you are anymore… You aren’t that schemer anymore.  You will not swindle and trick people… That spot of death I placed on you ate up your old life.  NOW… “your name is Israel for you have wrestled with God and come through.”  Coming through an encounter of God is a certainty but the limp will follow you forever.  It acts as a reminder of who you used to be so that you will never go back to that person.  The limp came, confession was made and now the blessing followed…

God has created you to be so much more. He wants you to let go of the old self and become who He has called you to be.  Has He promised you something that hasn’t come to fruition yet?  Set up a wrestling match but remember, the limp has to come before the blessing can follow.

Comments
  1. Lori says:

    So much to think about in this post. I read it last night but had too many distractions added on to exhaustion to repond. 🙂 I’ve never thought of this concept of wrestling with God over things and it really is so true. I do it. Daily. I do have my limps. They remind me often of where I was once and where I was headed. If I didn’t have these limps it would be so easy to go back to the old when the going gets rough. My limps remind me who I don’t want to be and how I don’t want to live and they encourage me to keep my eye’s on Jesus and to rely on Him instead, when the going gets tough. Because of them, I am more likely to cry out to Jesus then wallow in self pity. I am more likely to silently trust then to sink myself into worry. Of course I am human and I have day’s that I wrestle with God over things I don’t like his answer to or want things to go a certain way…my way. 🙂 And yes you are right afterwards comes the blessing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

