Treasures in the Dark

Posted: March 1, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A tragic accident claimed the lives of a mother and her son leaving behind a fractured family consisting of now just a father, John, and his 8-year-old daughter, Isabella. Everything happened so fast and by the time they knew it, they were sitting graveside, watching their lives shatter all the more. When evening came Isabella crawled into bed with her daddy as she was too heart broke to sleep alone. John turned out the lights, let out a deep sigh and hugged his little girl tightly.

Out of the silence, Isabella whispered, “Daddy, are you there?”
John wearily said, “Yes sweetie I am here.”
“Daddy, its SO dark… Why is it so much darker than the night before? I can’t see anything. I can’t even see you…. Daddy, is your face towards me?”
John kissed her on the forehead and said, “Yes, my face is towards you.”
“Ok daddy, I’m going to bed now. I will see you in the morning.”
(Based on excerpt from Adrian Rogers)

hope-light-in-darkness

Treasures in the dark.  Could it be possible that at your darkest hour, there is a treasure waiting to be found?

I have to tell you, I’m scared of the dark.  Actually, the more fitting word is that I “HATE” the dark.  Yes, this 32-year-old woman will not go into a dark room…ever!  (Well, unless Gabriel is in there but that’s a whole different blog.)   I absolutely do not want to be anywhere outside at night unless I have a light to see around me and even then, it’s iffy. A few years ago, I started realizing that it wasn’t the darkness that had me tied in knots… but the unknown that was cloaked in darkness.  But what if the unknowns in life held the greatest treasures of life?  Treasures in the dark.

Let’s get back to the aforementioned story.  I caught the tail end of a sermon by Adrian Rogers and he shared this intriguing story of John and his daughter Isabella.  Have you ever been where John and Isabella are?  Maybe you haven’t lost half your life but even “simple” things such as losing a job or a pet or bills piling up.  The circumstance doesn’t matter.  I have a good friend always tell me, “I hate telling you my problems because your problems seem MUCH bigger.”  Darkness is darkness, no matter what the circumstance.

It always seems the straw that broke the camels back is the heaviest piece in the whole stack.  It always seems that as the problems pile up, they are “manageable” until that last one overflows the whole pile.  We, as humans, can deal with a lot.  We can deal with the abuse of loved ones.  We can deal with a marriage gone wrong.  We can deal with rogue kids/family.  We can even deal with losing the closest ones around us.  But what happens when everything begins to pile up and the light of the Son begins to fade away….  It’s always darkest just before dawn.

Have you ever been like little Isabella?  Asking her daddy why it’s SO much darker than the night before?  Her world shattered within a few days and the impact it made caused the light of hope to grow dim.  She was scared, confused, hurt…angry.  How could she move past the darkness in her life?   It made her feel so alone and helpless.   Has life made you feel that way?  Has the darkness began to soak up the Son in your life?

“Daddy are you there?”  O, what we can learn from little children!  Isabella was SO scared and alone.  She knew her daddy was in the room and even knew he was in the bed with her.  In fact, I can say that she felt his arms around her but yet she still asked if he was there.  Why?  Sometimes we need re-assurance that the darkness hasn’t completely overtaken us.  Even in darkness, warm arms turn cold.

“Daddy, is your face towards me?”  Daddy…. Can you see me?  Are you going to help me through this?  I need your attention because I am wounded by life.  I need your face to turn towards me for a minute so I can see past the darkness.  She couldn’t see that his face was toward her from the get go.  Why?  Because that night was darker than all the others.  She was so scared of the unknown that it made her lose focus of what was right before her:  Her daddy’s face.

“Ok Daddy.  I’m going to sleep now.”  Darkness makes for sleepless nights.  When I was going through my darkest hour to date, I didn’t sleep a wink.  In fact, even now, if it’s totally dark in my room, I can’t sleep.  (Yes, I still sleep with a night-light.)  But when my husband and I slept in the same bed, I was okay to sleep in the darkness.  Why?  Because I knew that he would take care of the darkness had it reared its ugly head.  There’s something about sleeping through the darkness.  Sweet Isabella allowed herself to go on to sleep because she trusted in her daddy’s ability to see past the darkness.

“I’ll see you in the morning.”  In the darkness, morning seems so far away but if you will allow yourself to trust your Daddy in the darkness, morning WILL come.  Isabella said that she will “see” in the morning.  She knew that once morning was here, darkness would no longer rule her life and her sight would be restored.   I’ve come to tell you to HOLD ON!  Just wait…Morning is coming.  Darkness will fade away and the Son will shine again.  Remember, it’s darkest just before dawn.

Are you in your darkest hour?   Morning IS coming!   Are you waiting for your breakthrough?  Get ready, it’s coming.  Morning is awakening.  Are you waiting for your healing?  Get ready, morning is on the horizon.  Trust your Daddy through the darkness and find that there truly are treasures in the dark!

“Ok Daddy, I’m going to bed now. I’ll see you in the morning.”

Man waking young girl in bed smiling

“Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.”  Ps 30:5

#SharingHispeace

Comments
  1. Lori says:

    Oh my goodness. I am in a bad dark place right now. I think everything has caught up with me. Trying to be strong for my little’s and helping them get through the trauma that started our year. Too many nights of not enough sleep because of physical pain. Nightmares that wake me each night. Being strong and the leaning post for my daughter and her 2 children while their daddy is in prison. Feeling isolated and lonely because I have no mommy friends. Hell, I barely have any friends left over after going through a divorce and leaving the church. Thyroid & adrenal exhaustion Not to mention the daily work that needs to be done. Right now I feel like I can’t do “this”…what I have been called to do…that I am not qualified for this job. It dawned on me this past weekend when I was hysterically crying and feeling like running far away, that I don’t have a single friend that I could talk to about all of this and have them pray with me. This made me so sad. So yeah, I’ve been asking “Are you there?’ to God and wonder if He is hearing my desperate prayers and crys. I believe he does and know he is working. Still, I feel very alone here in the dark. So here I am writing how I feel to someone I’ve never met. Thank you for the reminders in this post!

    • I’ve been there honey. Just know that ‘this too shall pass!’ There is light at the end of the tunnel and there truly is treasures in the darkness. Maybe that post was for you. God specifically said, ‘Hold on!’ Morning is coming Lori! It’s not about you ‘handling’ anything but about God shining through you. I’m always here if you ever need to talk or vent about life. Sometimes, we just need an ear. I know how it feels to be completely alone and having to be strong for everyone else. Love you girlie and remember, the breakthrough is on the horizon!

Leave a Reply

