Stinky Feet in a Fresh Fire

Posted: January 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

If you play with fire, you are going to get burned.   Admittedly, I am such a pyro – not the burn your house down kind of pyro but the catch something on fire and watch it disintegrate then repeat with something else.   Growing up, we had a burn pile.  It consisted of everything from my dad’s old work materials to yard limbs.  It was sort of a “trash can” for all outside stuff.   We would have a weekend of yard work but when Sunday came around, it was our burn day.   My dad would pull stuff out of his shop (he was a carpenter so plenty of things to burn laying around) and we would set it ablaze.  I was so fascinated by the fire and honestly, still am.  I could watch something burn for hours just because the flame itself consumes me.   Yes, I am definitely a pyro.

With that being said, God’s been speaking to me about Moses and the burning bush.  The story is as follows: Now Moses was tending the flock ….. And he led the flock to the back of the desert, and came to Horeb, the mountain of God.  And the Angel of the Lord appeared to him in a flame of fire from the midst of a bush. So he looked, and behold, the bush was burning with fire, but the bush was not consumed. So when the Lord saw that he turned aside to look, God called to him from the midst of the bush and said, “Moses, Moses!”  And he said, “Here I am.”  Then He said, “Do not draw near this place. Take your sandals off your feet, for the place where you stand is holy ground….And Moses hid his face, for he was afraid to look upon God. ……Come now, therefore, and I will send you to Pharaoh that you may bring My people, the children of Israel, out of Egypt…. But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?…. (Due to blogging space, I only told bits and pieces of the story but I encourage you to read Exodus 3 in your spare time.)

So to paraphrase the story, Moses was working when God appeared in the form of a burning bush.  God told Moses, don’t enter unless you take off your sandals because my holiness will consume your sinfulness.  Moses hid his face and God began to talk to him about His plan.  What does Moses do?  “Lord, who am I?”…  In fact all throughout the Bible, men and women of God ask, “Who am I?”  When I began SharingHisPeace, I thought, “Who am I?”   He replied, “It’s not about who you are…but who I AM.”  Sound familiar?

Moses was definitely ALL human.  Think about it.  He was abandoned (mom threw him in a river) and living in a land where he didn’t fit in (King’s palace).  I can almost guarantee you he had self-esteem issues due to him always being “lower” than everyone else in his family.   He was a murderer and a liar.   Moses was on the run from those who “loved” him and found solitude in the stillness of life – the desert.  I think we can both agree that he was a spiritual mess but here he is, trying to make the best of his new-found world until God shows up on the scene.

I never understood why God told him to take off his shoes until now.  Granted, I take of my shoes when God is around but that is only because I’m following Moses’ example.  Back in the time of Moses, only the wealthy and free had shoes.  More often than not, slaves and those of lower class didn’t have any.  Shoes were  also a symbol of arrogance and sometimes vanity.  If you saw a person walking on the street with shoes, you automatically knew what social class they were in.

Feet, however, were a symbol of authority and a symbol of triumph over enemies (trample snake underfoot).  So think about it, your freedom, vanity and arrogance covered up your authority to trample on the devil.  Feet also symbolized you as a complete person (Prov 25:17).  It was who you were.  Moses, living in the desert in sandals, definitely had dirty, stinky feet.

In our humanness, our feet are dirty and stinky.  We try to cover our mess up by our arrogance and vanity, spouting that we are free but in reality, we are bound to… US.  God requested Moses’ shoe removal because He wanted Moses’ vulnerability to shine above his sinfulness.  With me so far?

So I told you earlier about growing up around fire pits and burn piles… Well, there’s one thing I left out.  Have you ever been around fire all day?  What happens?  When you leave, you begin to smell not yourself but the fire you were around.  After a long day of yard work, we would undoubtedly stink of sweat but after an evening of burning, we would go in the house smelling not of sweat but of smoke.   No doubt, Moses left that holy place smelling of smoke.

Honestly, God knows.  He knows what you did last year, yesterday and even 10 minutes ago.  He knows what you will do tomorrow yet He STILL calls you out to do His will.  We always ask, ‘why me?’  and He asks back, ‘why NOT you?!’   Don’t let your humanness get in the way of your burning bush experience. Just because you have stinky feet doesn’t mean you can’t get close to the fire!

#SharingHisPeace

Comments
  1. Bishop A.E. Jones Sr says:

    wow! Shannon this is great, God is showing his favor on you in this season. know that God is with you and he will keep you and your son in his hand. I just want you to know that I am so proud of you keep your head up and keep following God .

    Bishop A.E. Jones, Sr

  2. Sharing His Peace says:

    Thanks Bishop for the encouragement! God is SO good!

Leave a Reply

