What’s It To You?

Posted: January 10, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I have to give a background before I start…  It’s deemed a necessity as you would not understand where I am coming from.  I used to be in a ministry.  For almost 12 years I was in that ministry.  I backslid at the first of last year and messed up royally which caused me to be cast out.  Do I blame them?  Nope, it was my fault.  For lack of better words, I was Jonah in the belly of a whale.  Only recently have I been able to restart a part of my ministry, encouraging women in the jail here in Texarkana.  I am grateful for what He has done but am still waiting on His full restoration.

Ok, now for the story I want to leave with you…  A lot of times, we ask why do things happen or do not happen to us.  We see people getting things deserved or undeserved and cannot help but look at the lack or abundance in our own lives.  For instance, no one is perfect.  I backslid and was completely cut out of ministry but others can backslide and just get a slap on the wrist.  I kept asking the Lord, “What about them?  Why don’t they get the same punishment as I?”  And then He directed me to a story in the Bible.

Peter turned and saw that the disciple whom Jesus loved was following them. (This was the one who had leaned back against Jesus at the supper and had said, “Lord, who is going to betray you?”) When Peter saw him, he asked, “Lord, what about him?”  Jesus answered, “If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you? You must follow me….” John 21:20-22

I have to say, I thank God for Peter being in the Bible.   Peter gives me hope!  Why?  Because I’m just as bullheaded as he is.  Once I get something in my head, I will run with it no matter what it is.  Peter was quick to speak.  My “quickness” of speech is normally sarcastic so I have to be cautious NOT to have a smart mouth.  Peter was quick to anger.  The guards came to arrest Jesus and what did Peter do without stopping to think, he cut off an ear.  Of course, Jesus had to fix his wrong but honestly, Jesus has to do a lot of righting the wrong in my life too.

Earlier in this 21st chapter of John, Jesus is allowing Peter to repent for denying Jesus.  Three times Peter denied Jesus and three times Jesus asked Peter, “Do you love me?”  The question was not for Jesus as He already knew the answer but it was for Peter.  Sometimes the power of speaking things out will heal our wounds.  For instance, I had a lot of unforgiveness, anger, pride, ecetera in my heart.  It wasn’t until I wrote a book that God started to heal me of all that mess.  Why?  Because I kept it bottled inside.  Sometimes we MUST get what is inside us out in order for God to completely restore us.  No doubt that when Peter finished answering Jesus’ questions, he felt the peace sweep over him.  (But that’s a whole other blog…)

So, Jesus is talking to Peter one-on-one.  They are face-to-face and all of His attention is on Peter.  I can visualize it.  Peter glances over Jesus’ shoulder and sees another disciple waiting on Jesus to finish.  Maybe he has something to ask Jesus.  Maybe Jesus told him to stand there.  Who knows…the exact situation does not matter, but what matters is the fact that Jesus was only focused on Peter.  I can hear Peter’s thoughts (mainly because they are my thoughts), “But Lord, what about him?  (If you only knew what I knew about him… Do you know what he did?  Where he’s been?  Did you know…)”

How many times do we as Christians focus on someone else when Jesus is focused on us?  Maybe a family member is struggling with an addiction and all we can do judge them when Jesus is looking at us saying, “Do you love me?  Then feed my sheep.”  (John 21:15).  We even give the devil our attention more than Jesus.  I’ve heard people talk more about the devil than they ever even think about Jesus and wonder why they live a defeated life.  Whatever dominates your lips is where your focus lies.

Jesus was great at saying things to the point.  He knew how to word something that would catch your attention and be easy to understand.   He said, “If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you?  You must follow me…” (John 21:22)   Basically Jesus is saying to Peter, “Mind your business!  Whatever I’m doing with him is not of your concern.  I’ve called you to follow me NOT to look at him.”   Enough said…

So the next time you begin to look at someone and judge or covet what they have.  Remember that Jesus has all His attention on you.  Where’s your focus?

#sharingmypeace

Leave a Reply

