Choose This Day…

Posted: January 2, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I’ve been a Christian for a long while now.  I’ve been through a lot of different phases in my Christian walk.  I’ve been hot, cold and somewhere in between.  I’ve been a proclaimer where all I have done is speak things that are not as though they are.  There are times when I was focused more on healing than anything else.   There was a phase where I was just plain ol’ complacent.  I’m not saying there is anything wrong with any of those as I still believe in speaking things into existence and I believe in His healing hand.  Honestly, if complacency suits you, there’s nothing I can do about it but just remember that there is SO much more.

God has been speaking to me about a specific verse: “Choose this day whom you will serve…as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” Joshua 24:15.

Choosing…such a seemingly insignificant yet powerful word.  I tend to look at the word “serve” in the above verse and put emphasis on that, but today God showed me the “choosing power” we all have.   Every day we make TONS of choices.  Some are small like what color socks to put on and others are big like choosing to deal with a difficult co-worker but the fact remains, we all make choices.  Jesus chose to hang on the cross.  He didn’t decide when He began the walk to the dreadful hill.  He didn’t even decide when the nails began to pierce His skin.  He made his choice in the garden of Gethsemane and set His face like a stone to do His Father’s will.   The course of the world was changed because in the blink of an eye, He chose what was right even though He knew it would cause Him a world of pain…literally.

So with that being said:

Today, I choose to be a masterpiece created by my Maker.   I choose to live a life of love so that others might know of His love.  I choose to have a sound mind and a peaceful heart for that is what the world is lacking.  Today, I choose life and not death.  I choose to be a victor and not a victim for old things have passed away and new things are on the horizon.  Today, I choose to be silent in my anger and allow the stillness of God to overcome my heart.  Today, I choose…. 

I choose to speak less and listen more.  Today I choose to be attentive to an always talking God, even when I cannot hear Him.  I choose to look not at the past but trudge onward sharing my life so others might see His work through me.   Today I choose to be an overcomer and not be overwhelmed by the pressures of the world.  I choose to forgive quickly but never forget the lessons learned.  I choose to be obedient, even unto death.  Today, I choose…

I choose to present my life as a living sacrifice to the Lord of lords and allow Him have control over my life.   I choose to allow His corrective hand to restore me followed closely thereafter by His merciful eyes to uphold me.  Today, I choose to see His splendor and not my sin.  I choose to be robed in His garmet of righteousness.   Today, I choose to run and not grow weary.  I choose to walk and not faint.  Today, I choose…

I shall be blessed and highly favored, the head and not the tail and a beacon of light to a lost and dying world.  I shall have peace, joy, love and hope.  I shall give more than I receive and not worry about tomorrow…

The list goes on and on….

So this year, begin to choose that which is right and just.  Begin to make choices that supercede your life and affect the lives of those around you.  God gave us this great gift and I fear we have squandered it or at the very least, taken it for granted.  We will live and die by our choices.  I once heard “the world isn’t getting dimmer, Christians just need to light another candle.”   The choices we make will lighten or darken the world we live in… So today, what do you choose?

Leave a Reply

